The chateau in Chropyně is another building administered by the Museum of Kroměříž District. Current chateau lies in the site of a medieval flat fortification of a water-type, which was not suitable for inhabitation since the end of the 16th century. At the beginning of the following century, the chateau becomes the property of the Olomouc Archbishopric thanks to cardinal František from Dietrichstein. Then after 1615, a multi floor manneristic building with a chapel and tower was built using the original fort as a base. Present appearance of the chateau comes from the years 1701 – 1703, when it was rebuild by bishop Karel Lotrinský according to G.P.Tencalla`s older projects. Both main historic halls of the chateau got their present appearance in the fifties of the 19th century. Romanticizing modifications were made in the Knights Hall, where waffle ceiling and crests of the Furstenbergs and allied families were placed. Arms from the thirty-year war and the following Turkish wars, which were brought from Mírov, were and still are displayed there. Also in Ječmínek Hall, originally a guest dining room with a maiolica stove from the sixties of the 17th century, a waffle ceiling was installed and romanticizing modifications took place here, too. At the end of the 19th century, the onion-like helmet of the tower steeple was destroyed by fire and then replaced by the current needle roofing. The ruined object was monumentally reconstructed in the seventies. Today, visitors can find a modest memorial to the composer and shortly also the director of the National Museum, Emil Axman. In the adjacent exhibition area, temporary exhibitions especially of an ethnographic character are installed.
On the first floor, the Knights Hall and Ječmínek Hall mentioned above can be found, in the adjacent rooms the history of Chropyně since prehistory, history of local agriculture, fishpond cultivation and folklore are outlined. On the second floor of the chateau, visitors can see the monument to Emil Filla, the native of Chropyně. One can see the outline of Fila`s production with previews from his work completed by plenty of autobiographic data and documents from the artist`s life.
Every second year since 1985, the Museum of Kroměříž District together with the Chropyně Townhall holds a popular Haná festival, focused on preservation and recovery of the folkloric traditions of the region, in the chateau area. The festivities are always accompanied by a fair with an exhibition of traditional crafts and by entertainment, one can also see a performance of renowned musical groups, e.g.: Hradišťan. Haná festivities are held in Chropyně in May every odd year. You are welcome to attend, too.
April – only Saturdays and Sundays
Season (May – September) daily except for Mondays
Out of season – upon telephone booking – tel.: 573 338 388
adults 70,- Kč
children, students, retired 35,- Kč
families 110,- Kč
school groups 30,- Kč